News Highlights


Jul 18
Wade Clark Roof, an emeritus professor in UC Santa Barbara’s Department of Religious Studies, has received a lifetime achievement award from the Association for the Sociology of Religion (ASR). The award, given annually, recognizes major intellectual contributions as well as contributions through service, mentoring and teaching. 


Roof is perhaps best known as one of the leading national voices on the baby boomer generation and on questions of religious pluralism. He also was instrumental in the founding of UCSB’s Walter H. Capps Center for the Study of Ethics, Religion and Public Life, where he served as director for 15 years.
Jun 22
HispaUSA, an association of Chicano literature scholars in the United States and Spain, where it is based, has presented Francisco Lomelí with the Luis Leal Award “for his inestimable contribution to the recognition of Hispanic culture in the United States.”
Lomelí, a professor of Chicano studies and of Spanish and Portuguese, accepted the award in Salamanca, Spain. Leal, one of the most celebrated scholars of Chicano and Latin American literature, taught at UCSB from 1976 to 2006.
Jun 14
Professor Jeffrey Stewart, of the Department of Black Studies, is the recipient of the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research. He has been recognized for his sustained commitment to developing and showcasing undergraduate research. 
Additionally, two College of Letters & Science students, Victoria Melgarejo and Joseph Heide, have also been recognized for their outstanding contributions to undergraduate research at UC Santa Barbara. 
Jun 8
Four undergraduate students in the College of Letters & Science at UC Santa Barbara have been selected to receive awards for outstanding academic achievement. They will be recognized at commencement exercises June 16 and 17. They are:
Ana Guerrero Gallegos - Luis Leal Social Sciences Undergraduate Award
Brenna Giacchino - Francis Colville and Terry Dearborn Memorial Award
Francisco Olvera - William R. Reardon Undergraduate Award
Stephen Chih - Deans’ Outstanding Senior Award


May 31
UC Santa Barbara biochemist and biophysicist Irene Chen has been named a recipient of the 2018 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award.
Chen is one of 13 recipients of the award this year, all young faculty who, according to the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation, have created an outstanding independent body of scholarship and are deeply committed to education. Each Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar receives an unrestricted research grant of $75,000.